Società dei Naturalisti e Matematici di Modena

The “Società dei Naturalisti e Matematici di Modena” (Society of Naturalists and Mathematicians of Modena) is a cultural, democratic, non-party, non-denominational, no-profit association. It was founded in 1865 and aimed to promote the study of Natural, Physical and Mathematical Sciences, to favour relations between scholars, researchers and collectors and to disseminate scientific culture at all levels in order to achieve well-balanced civil growth of society.

The “Società” attains these goals by means of:

  • Meetings dedicated to the proposal and discussion of original investigations and presentation of initiatives concerning the sciences;
  • Yearly publication of a scientific journal entitled “Atti della Società dei Naturalisti e Matematici di Modena”;
  • Conferences, excursions, exhibitions, visits to museums and places of particular natural interest;
  • Awareness campaigns directed to schoolchildren, students, public opinion and public and private Boards.

The Society can number famous scientists among its members and honorary members, such as Giovanni Canestrini (founder), Carlo Boni (second chairman), Charles Darwin, Joseph Dalton Hooker, Louis Pasteur, Philipp Franz von Siebold, Antonio Stoppani, Paul August Kesselmeyer, Thomas Henry Huxley, Quintino Sella, Richard Dawkins.
Our Society has a rich library, resulting from the exchange of our journal with some 150 journals and reviews of many scientific and cultural institutions from all over the world.

Back to top button